Aumy!

I am an Aumy! An Auntie who now has to be Mommy too.  I recently received Guardianship of my lovely niece and nephew.  I have no children of my own.  It’s a hard role to have.  An aunt is supposed to be someone who steps in when parents are not capable of doing certain things.  A second in command before Grandma steps in.  Like buying needed school clothes, taking the kids on outings when the parents are busy, paying for school trips, giving the best birthday presents, explaining life’s details and a person to vent to.  The best part about being an Auntie is the ability to be the child’s favorite person. Oh! I almost forgot, the other best part is the ability to bring your sidekick back home.  I love my little minions! However now I can’t bring them back home.  Their home is with me and I would not have it any other way.  Sometimes I look at them and wonder if my eggs were stolen. 🙂 I don’t think I know what I am doing all the time but the kids and I are in it together now.

I wanted to create this blog so all Aumy’s out there can share their experiences.  The road may be bumpy but all we need is some tequila, hand sanitizer, and arms ready for big hugs at any moment.

Leave a Reply

